top of page

Pesach Must-Reads

Hello to all,

First the bad news:

My apologies for neglecting this site and I don't promise to be better :(

Work and family life have taken over my days and nights and this hobby got put on the back burner.

Now onto the good news!

This Pesach season has seen some of the greatest selection of books published!

First, I sent my kids to the book store with a pad and paper on a mission: make a list for Mommy of which books YOU want to read. (They're 7, 9 and 12 going on 35)

Then, I printed out lists of new or forthcoming titles from the websites of Artscroll.com , israelbookshoppublications.com , judaicapress.com , Menuchapublishers.com , feldheim.com , hachai.com & jewishchildrensbookclub.com for the kids to choose from.

I've decided to share their lists here so that it can help any of you with YOUR shopping before Pesach. Please note that since my children do read most magazines weekly, some excellent books went right over their heads because they read the column weekly.

I'm not going to describe each book because we haven't read 'em yet....and yeah we're going to go broke if we buy 'em all-- but they look AWESOME. And yes, we do get all the magazine but books are just wonderful and long and keepers.

7 Year old (Boy):

1) Daniel and the Lions Zev Wahl (Israel Bookshop)

2) Bike for Sale Bracha Rosman (Israel Bookshop)

3)Story of the Chasam Sofer, Sarah Feldbrand (Israel Bookshop) Note: I read him the previous one on the Baal Shem Tov and he loved it. He cannot read this level yet but he loves hearing me read it to him.

4) Dovy's Special Seder, Malky Weinstock (Judaica Press)

5) My Recycled Brother Menucha Chana Levin (Jewish Children's Book Club)

6) The Ambassadors: Time for the Korbon Pesach (ALL of my kids want this one!) M. Safra (Tfutza/Israel Bookshop)

7) Let's Make Shalom (Moooomy this one I KNOW you're going to want to buy!) Bracha Goetz, (Israel Bookshop)

9 Year old Twin 1 (Girl):

1) F is for Friendship, Ruchama Schneidman, Menucha Publishers

2) The Secret Clubhouse Kids (comics style, Rabbi Avraham Ohayon, Tfutzah/Israel Bookshop)

3) Mister Lister, Judith Pransky (Menucha Publishers)

4) Me, My Dog Series (the twins want all of 'em but I haven't seen them in schools so it's possible it's only being sold to schools! It's written by David A. Adler of Cam Janson fame and published by MCS a division of Menucha Publishers)

5) Cozy Rosy Learns to Be Herself, Chaya Reich (both twins want this one! They loved the first book Cozy Rosy learns to Clean her Room)

Just Imagine: The Miracles of Kriyas Yam Suf M. Safra (Tfutza/Israel Bookshop) This is one of the most beautiful series ever. Even the parents read it. And all my children love it.

9 Year old Twin 2 (Also a girl-- they read verrrrry differently!)

1) Your Walking Talking Body , Rabbi Yeshaya Perlow (based on R' Avigdor Miller's teachings on the wonders of our bodies), (Judaica Press)

2) The Accident, Faygie Holt (Menucha Publishers) Note: This book made it on the list of all THREE girls!

3) Surprise & Other Stories Dina Newman (Menucha Publishers)

4) Mimi's Big Year Chanie Altein, (Judaica Press)

5) A Pinch of Pepper and Other Stories, Libby Lazewnik (Judaica Press)

6) The Secret of Carlos Romanus, Esther Kosofsky (Hachai)

12 year old going on 35 ("Mommy you can share some with me" Gee, thanks!)

1) My Last Year in Mitzrayim (I am soooo sharing this one!) Chaim Greenbaum (Artscroll)

2) House of Secrets (M.Jakubowitz) Israel Bookshop

3) Iron Gates Debbie Strom, Feldheim

4) Born to Rule, Sarah Feldbrand (Israel Bookshop)

5) The Plan, Zev Spektor (Judaica Press)

6) Silver & Gold, Tzivia Reischer (Artscroll) -- my daughter told me that this serial was soooo good she needs to have it in book form.

Mommy Picks (heyyy if I get to read anything!)

1) A Taste of Pesach 2 (Artscroll)-- this cookbook has amazing plating ideas and I've already used the recipes for every part of my menu that needed a revamp.

2) From Djerba to Jerusalem (I grew up hearing about Rebbetzin Bitton-Blau and am really excited to read this) Libby Lazewnik, Artscroll

3) Rabbi Yisrael Belsky Biography, Rabbi Shimon Finkelman (Artscroll)

4) Out of the Box, Shaindy Perl, (Israel Bookshop) Disclaimer: Shaindy is a great friend and I am totally blown away by ANYTHING she writes :) Plus this is all about relationships and self-understanding -- the fun stuff.

5) Stepping Stones, Rochel Istrin (Israel Bookshop)

6) Never Knew You Miriam Weiser (Judaica Press)

7) Stardust CB Weinfeld (Artscroll)

8) Face Value Ahuva Parnes (Israel Bookshop) If it's anything like The Single Files, I'm going to love it!

Bubby Picks for the Toddlers &Preschool kids I love :)

A Smile is Catchy Chaya Kramer & Sarah Massry, MSED (Sarah is a great friend whose writing I so admire and love!) (Artscroll)

My Sometimes Feelings, Amy Wummer (Hachai)

Yossi & Laibel Shabbos Surprise Board Book Dina Rosenfeld (Hachai)

Yes, I Can! Hindy Kviat & Chaya Leah Lefkowitz (Hachai)

It Only Takes a Minute, Bracha Goetz (Hachai)

I Give Tzedaka Every Day, Naomi Shulman (Judaica Press)

If there's a book that's caught your eye and it's not on my list, leave it in the comments (or if you've written a book-- feel free to plug it)


bottom of page