top of page

Manny in a Pickle

Manny in a Pickle

Created and Illustrated by: Shuly Marmorstein

Written by: Sari Grunwald

Publisher: Israel Bookshop

My poor neighbors.

Most of them are not reading this blog so I can tell you all about them. (ahhhhh!)

They’re the most giving, fun and supportive bunch.

They’re the ones whose children keep mine entertained for hours and whose company I relish all the time but Friday night after candle lighting is the absolute best.

Because they’re so nice and polite, I invited them in for a rendition of me reading Manny in a Pickle. And all of them laughed and laughed and seriously whispered “How do we anonymously leave this book out for the Manny’s of this world to read?!”

My kids say it’s a book adults should read.

And I don’t disagree.

But my kids have taken to my “no” a whole lot better when I say “You don’t want to be Manny”...

The book begins with this:

Manny was a grown-up

Who read The Daily Shmooze

He had a fancy cell phone

And buckles on his shoes.

But quickly spirals into a disaster as grown-up Manny tantrums terribly in the pickle aisle.

It’s laughable and indeed both the adults and kids laughed but as we call it in yiddish “ah bittere gelechter” because we’ve all seen an adult tantrum or two….and it ain’t pretty.

The author takes the reader back to Manny’s childhood where we see his mother caving in to his every whim…

….and the results speak for themselves.

I love books that are funny and easy to read as this one is. What I love even more is when the author can really drive home a message within all the fun. We’ve been reading and re-reading this book a whole lot around this house and I think it’ll be a pattern that sticks for a while….

It’s available here:

http://www.israelbookshoppublications.com/store/pc/Manny-in-a-Pickle-p1197.htm

OR here:

https://www.amazon.com/Manny-pickle-sari-Grunwald/dp/1600915256

bottom of page