top of page

Secrets of Skinny Cooking

I was soooo not planning to review this cookbook just yet. I've got a mountain of books published more recently that are waiting to be reviewed BUT if you'd have been here this morning when my kids went absolutely wild over their rainy day breakfast....you'd have run to your computer too!

Disclosure #1: I like good food. Disclosure #2: I like cook good food even more. Disclosure #3: I like healthful food. Disclosure #4: My kids usually don't.

I admit I delayed buying Secrets of Skinny Cooking (Artscroll/Shaar Press) by Victoria Dwek & Shani Taub, C.D.C., C.N. because I was sick and tired of cookbooks that go "healthy" by cutting out flavor or even worse include "light" recipes with 1.5 cups sugar (well, originally it was 3 and we cut it in half....)

Well, I was wrong.

After purchasing it in August of 2017, my family has gotten used to asking "Ma, is that from the skinny cookbook?"

The recipes I've made have been hits. For Yom Tov, I tried the "Shabbos Steak" recipe with some slight variations and it was a winner. I've made the corn muffins (I love them-- my kids don't!) which taste just like cafe corn muffins.

Last night, I whipped up some spicy sweet potato fries and most of my family (well, is there EVER a supper everyone eats?! You're lying.) took seconds and thirds.

Another Yom Tov fave was the Techina salmon and that dressing has been my go-to for Israeli salad and nearly every other salad. It almost feels like I'm eating falafel without the fat.

I've got all the ingredients for the Mixed Berry Fruit Gelee waiting for me to have a few minutes to try. I think this Shabbos it'll finally happen. Oh and the peanut butter cups are out of this world.

But what got me to write this review were the protein pancakes I whipped up this morning. So I know this is a book review blog but since I own it-- I get to do whatever I like and so I'll advise mothers: if you cook something for YOURSELF it's guaranteed that someone else will say "hey...I want THAT!" Right. There goes my breakfast.

So I made the protein pancakes at 7am to treat MYSELF because rainy days require treats. These pancakes have no sugar and they are my protein pick-me-up. Child #1 loves them too so I packed some up for her. Which of course created a need. A desperate need. Every other child needed one or two or three....but shhhhh mine were hidden in another room and nobody ate 'em. I topped mine with some blueberries an 1/8 tsp honey. I'm still feeling the good vibes two hours later :)

You can watch some of the recipes demonstrated here:

https://www.kosher.com/shows/skinny-cooking-7

You can buy the book here:

http://artscroll.com/Books/9781422618981.html

Or here:

https://www.amazon.com/Secrets-Skinny-Cooking-Mouthwatering-Recipes/dp/1422618986/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1509369662&sr=8-1&keywords=secrets+of+skinny+cooking+dwek

bottom of page