top of page

The Growing Tree And Me

Thanks to my email on Soferet (which is an awesome resource for frum writers!), I've been swamped with book review requests and it's taking me a while to get to all of them.

This book, The Growing Tree And Me (Written by J. Mesch & published by Jewish Children's Book Club) , skipped to the tippy top of the pile because it included (once again!) my favorite element of successful children's books: simplicity.

Have you ever seen mothers summarizing each page of a story to their children? I have. And it's pathetic. Those are the times I wonder if authors and publishers test their books on their target clientele.... (But that's for a different post!)

This book has got just a few words on each page, simple illustrations and a great message to kids: the taller and older you get....the more mitzvos you can do.

I read this book to my seven year old who found it lovable. He read it three times (and yes...bonus points that it had words he could read on his own!). But I found the younger kids really loved it even more for its rhythm and simplicity.

It's actually NOT available in bookstores and only available to school and online. I believe the publisher prints on demand-- something new to the frum world.

It can be found here:

https://www.amazon.com/Growing-Tree-Me-J-Mesch/dp/1523866721

bottom of page