top of page

Miracles: The Extraordinary Life of Frieda Bassman

Disclaimer: I grew up with Mrs. Bassman's grandchildren and my father apparently had some fundraising interactions with her too so I'd heard about this magnanimous woman here and there.

However, I was not prepared for the journey this book took me on.

Firstly, while it is authored by Michael Lesher and Malky Feig (Feldheim), it is written in first person and a good bulk seems to be based off of a manuscript Mrs Bassman had prepared in her lifetime.

Why she'd never published it in her lifetime was due to the fact that the Tosher Rebbe zt'l had told her to hold off.

I can barely deal with an article of mine being delayed by a week...let alone a lifetime.

Acceptance is the story of her life and it is that message that comes through over and over.

The story begins with the home Frieda Bassman was raised in and the emunah that was lived and breathed throughout. Then, we follow her miraculous survival of the holocaust and rebuilding in the States. We follow her emotional reunions and her strength in the face of many many challenges. I found it particularly fascinating to read about her work in the medical field during a time most women, let alone frum women, were very much not a part of that world. Her dedication to the patients in her care was very apparent--she gave her life to them.

I read the epilogue and felt many of my questions echoed in the chapters. As her daughters write "Where was the mention of..." so many of the accomplishments were omitted from Mrs Bassman's original manuscript.

Humility is an understatement.

How unsurprising for the woman who could set a manuscript aside after toiling over it, who could surrender her dreams for a greater purpose.

This is a book I'm so glad to own because it's one I can see reading every time I need to be inspired to do more....to BE more.

Available here:

http://www.feldheim.com/miracles.html

or here:

https://www.amazon.com/Miracles-Extraordinary-Bassman-Inspiring-Account/dp/1680253077

bottom of page